How I Did It-Preparing for Data Collection


May 31, 2010

It’s Memorial Day and I am out-of-town visiting family at my mom’s house. It is hectic here with no opportunity to focus. I’m up early this morning to focus on getting ready for my proposal defense on Wednesday. (No one gets up before 11am in this house.) I have to get back in the habit of writing every single day because a part of my data collection procedures is a journal that I have to keep to use at the end for analysis. Keeping this journal was my practice, but in a couple of days I will be doing the real thing. I don’t think it will be difficult to write everyday now because I am back in control. No one has to approve anything right now. Collecting the data is my baby. In my IRB application, I laid out exactly what I will do, so I need to make a things-to-do list based on that and get started. If I say I am going to do it a certain way I have to stick to it. I’m supposed to go through the school district’s Exceptional Children’s department to find eligible special education teachers. I really hope they don’t make me wait too long. Luckily, since the county approved my research, they shouldn’t tell me no.

 

 

To talk to me privately about this or any other dissertation-related issue, email me.

Leave a Reply

