How I Did It-Focus on the Future


September 22, 2009

I’ve decided for my hour today I will work a little on my references for 30 minutes and then revising my proposal for the rest. Lord give me the wisdom to stay focused.  It’s 1am and I am very sleepy. I know that this job is temporary and I know that if I don’t get focused temporary could mean longer than I want it to. I want to be a professor when I finish this. I’ve taught part-time for the last two years at my Alma mater. I know it is what I want to do full-time. Without this PhD I could hang that up. So Lord, it’s in your hands.

 

 

 

 

 

To talk to me privately about this or any other dissertation-related issue, email me.

2 thoughts on “How I Did It-Focus on the Future

  1. Hi Natasha,

    As long as you keep at it, you will meet your goals. I finally finished my architecture thesis in 2011 after a long, drawn-out process. I believe it would have been a much less painful process had I committed an hour every day. I found that the closer I came to seeing the finish line, the more energy and motivation I gained to complete it. I got there through long periods of procrastination that only ended with Herculean efforts. Keeping at it steadily is much healthier way to go!

    1. Hi Tracey, I finished it in October of 2010. I just decided to blog what I wrote in my journal at the time to help anyone I could. Thanks for the encouraging words though.

Leave a Reply

