How I Did It-Job Offer!


August 3, 2009

It’s Monday and tomorrow my baby turns 1! I have nothing ready in regards to a party. I’ll pull it together and she will be fine. Today one of my old principals called me to offer me a position. I will be teaching 11th grade Resource English and 9th grade Inclusion Algebra. Not too bad. I would love to take it. I told him I would have to talk to my husband first. The high school hours will be good. I would begin on August 20 and school starts on August 26. I would definitely be finished with my proposal by then. I would try to write some during my down time, if I have it. I told the principal I was in the last stages of my PhD program and he said he would be flexible if I needed to take time off or something. The only thing about taking this job is  that I will be looking for a position at a college or university all the while. For me, this will be temporary. I’ve  served my time in public school, but making full-time own money again sure sounds good. I would be working full-time and part-time (I dare not drop being an adjunct at UNCG), be a full-time mother and wife and basically a full-time dissertator. I would really have to step up my game.

 

 

 

 

 

To talk to me privately about this or any other dissertation-related issue, email me.

4 thoughts on “How I Did It-Job Offer!

  1. Having read this I thought it was rather
    enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and
    effort to put this short article together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

