How I Did It-Organizing for Literature Review Time


July 19, 2009

I am in the library after missing a couple of days. I got here at 3:15pm and will stay til it closes at 10pm. I am starting my lit review and I need to remember what I did for the Comps so it won’t take so long. I remember doing the keyword searches, printing things out, skimming them for the topics I needed, creating a form to extract the info I needed from the articles and then writing. I remember there were days I got two to three pages written doing three to four hours in the library. If I do that this time I can get this lit review done in about a week and a half. As long as I do the preliminary structuring in the beginning, the actual reading and writing should not take so long. Let us pray…

(Below is a link to the form I created to use when reading literature. Use it to log everything you read. Filling it out carefully will make it easy to find authors who agree or disagree, quotes that you want to use or just to keep up with the everything you want to say about it. I made copies of these if I didn’t want to type on it directly. I placed the completed ones along with the actual article in the corresponding manila folders.)

Summary of Articles and Reports

 

 

 

To talk to me privately about this or any other dissertation-related issue, email me.

Leave a Reply

