How I Did It-Creating my Proposal Timeline-June 6, 2009


I’m trying to come up with a timeline to work from to reach the milestones. The timeline my program provides is too broad with each milestone varying from 6-36 weeks. I need to look at things at least one week at a time. That is how I finished my coursework and it is definitely how I lived through comps. I only have a limited amount of resources for the summer and the kids will be out of school in three weeks. I really need to get the ball rolling.  My dissertation course starts on July 13, exactly five weeks away. I want to have a large part of the proposal done by then. According to my steps checklist, I should spend 40 hours collecting the literature, 60 hours reading and coding it, and another 40 hours actually writing the literature review. The Chapter 1 and 3 will be the easiest because they are already partly done thanks to my research course last quarter. Even still, I will devote 20-30 hours to complete them. If I consider time spent in one chunk to be four hours during the day and two hours after everyone has gone to bed, I can work through this. I will now do a timeline based on this assumption and do my best to follow it.

By June 13

  • Have conference call with mentor
  • Collect literature for 20 hours (at least 3 hours a day)
  • Draft final outline of lit. review based on conference call
  • Complete two CITI modules

By June 20

  • Collect literature for 20 hours (at least 3 hours a day)
  • Complete two CITI modules
  • Finish CITI training

By June 27

  • Read and code the literature for 30 hours (at least 4 hours a day)
  • Finish any remaining CITI modules
  • Draft three sections of the lit. review based on the outline (20 hours)

By July 4

  • Read and code the literature for 30 hours (at least 4 hours a day)
  • Draft three sections of the lit. review based on the outline (20 hours)

By July 11

  • Draft remaining sections of the lit. review based on the outline (~20 hours)
  • Draft the overview of the study-Chapter 1 (20 hours)

By July 18

  • Submit Proposal
  • Restructure and draft Chapter 3 already completed in research course

By July 25

  • Mentor approves Proposal (fingers will be crossed)
One thought on “How I Did It-Creating my Proposal Timeline-June 6, 2009

Leave a Reply

